Canada Selects to Face Ontario Arrows in Two-Match Series

With files from Rugby Canada Communications

LANGFORD, BC (May 4, 2018) – Rugby Canada and the Ontario Arrows, Canada’s first privately-funded professional rugby union team, have announced a pair of development fixtures in Ontario and British Columbia to help Canada prepare for their upcoming June internationals.

“This two-game series against the Arrows is crucial for our preparation in facing Scotland, Russia and the USA after a tough few weeks of strength and conditioning at the Al Charron Rugby Canada National Training Centre in Langford. The Arrows will provide our centralized players quality opposition and a chance to put their hand up for selection in our Summer Series roster,” said Kingsley Jones.

“Having been out to Ontario three times over the last month, I have seen first-hand the passion and commitment being put into the Arrows program and think these two fixtures will also provide an opportunity to continue growing the depth of athletes in Canada,” added Jones.

The Arrows have an away win and a draw against current Major League Rugby franchises Utah Warriors and Houston Sabercats, and are coming off a 29-19 win over Boston Mystics, whom they host this Saturday at York University.

“This series is great for our guys and our program,” said Arrows head coach Chris Silverthorn. “The players will get a chance to test themselves against the Canadian carded athletes and see how and if they fit in. Additionally, our fans get a great home game. We have been getting better each game and now that we can actually train outdoors, we are starting to put our game together.”

May 26 will be a busy day in Langford, as a number of other fixtures will take place in advance of the Canada Selects versus Ontario Arrows game. Canada’s Under-20 Team will face a local regional side, and discussions around having two other games played on the same day are in the works. Stay tuned for more information.

Upcoming Rugby Canada Development Fixtures schedule:

May 18
Canada Selects vs. Ontario Arrows
York University
Toronto, ON
Kick off: 6pm ET/3pm PT
Tickets will go on sale on www.ontarioarrowsrugby.com on Monday, May 7.

May 26
Westhills Stadium
Langford, BC
U23 Games
TBD
Senior Men
TBD
Canada U20 vs Opponent TBD
Kick off: 5pm ET/2pm PT
Ontario Arrows vs. Canada Selects
Kick off: 8pm ET/5pm PT

Attendance will be free at Westhills Stadium; however, Rugby Canada will be accepting donations for HSBC Rookie Rugby presented by Honda local programs.

Canada’s 2018 Summer Series:

June 9
Canada vs. Scotland
Commonwealth Stadium
Edmonton, AB
Kick off: 7pm local time (9pm ET/6pm PT)

June 16
Canada vs. Russia
Twin Elm Rugby Park
Ottawa, ON
Kick off: 4pm ET/1pm PT

June 23
Canada vs. USA
Wanderers Ground
Halifax, NS
Kick off: 4pm local time (3pm ET/12pm PT)

-30-

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close